Latest NSW Mobile Blackspot tower locations revealed

Northern Tablelands, Orange, and Monaro towns feature heavily in new blackspot funding list


There will be 26 new service towers installed over the next six months.


THE latest round of NSW mobile blackspot upgrades have been named with towns across the Northern Tablelands, Orange, and Monaro featuring heavily. 

Over the next six months 26 new towers will be constructed at Manna Mountain, Bogee, Bodalla, Nethercote, Darbys Falls, Lue, Windellama, Colo Heights, Kurrajong, Clunes, Drake, Araluen, Dalgety, Wherrol Flat, Spring Mountain Road, Elsmore, Hillgrove, Invergowrie, Cargo, Molong, Warroo, Mandila, Hernani, Sherwood, Woolomin and Blue Mountains National Park. 

Regional Development MInister John Barilaro said 144 new base stations will be built in NSW over the next three years. The next set of locations will be confirmed by mid-2016. 

“The new or upgraded towers contribute to more than 14,000 square kilometres of new coverage in NSW, an area larger than the Sydney metropolitan area,” Mr Barilaro said.  

The Mobile Blackspot Program is a joint state-federal initiative that is backed by $24 million from the NSW Coalition and $96 million from Canberra. 

The program will see will see 795 blackspots eliminated across regional NSW and outer Sydney.

A total 3000 blackspots across the country will be targeted. 


From the front page

Sponsored by