All the faces of the Boorowa Flock Ewe Competition

Boorowa Flock Ewe Competition top five announced


See who the top five flocks were in this year's Boorowa Flock Ewe Competition.


The 31st annual Boorowa Flock Ewe Competition hosted by the Boorowa Show Society was held last Friday with 10 properties competing from the region. 

Slightly back in the number entires compared to previous years, the tour hosted 65 people with Rick Power from Landmark Boorowa noting, that considering the season, the sheep were presented well. 

Returning for a second year to oversee the competition was Hamish McLaren from Nerstane Merinos at Woolbrook, who was joined by Andrew Rayner from Grathlyn Merinos, Mudgee. 

The top five were announced as Bruce and Narelle Nixon of Clovelly, Frogmore, Bill Hurley from Old Killanear, Boorowa, Dymock Agricultural from Macclesfield, Boorowa, Clearview Partnership of Clear View, Boorowa and DK. and KF. McGrath from Clear View South, Boorowa. 

Other participants in this year's flock ewe competition included AJ. and LM. Croker, Willowdale, Rugby, Ben ad Tonya Johnson, Somersby Pastoral, Boorowa, Gregory Pastoral, Mount View, Boorowa, WJ. and RT. Stanley, Killarney, Galong, and Pat and Sue Dwyer, Ingleside, Yass. 

The top five flocks will now showcase 10 ewes from their flock at the Boorowa Show (March 2 and 3) where the winners of the 31th annual Boorowa flock ewe competition will be announced. 

This winning flock will then take part in the regional competition on March 15 where they will compete against the winners from Gunning, Taralga and Crookwell for the Southern Tablelands Flock Ewe Championship title. 


From the front page

Sponsored by